How We Learn

The EYFS curriculum

There are seven areas of Learning and Development within EYFS. Whilst all are important and inter-connected, the framework splits learning into three ‘Prime Areas’ and four ‘Specific Areas’.

The Prime Areas are fundamental to igniting a child’s curiosity and building their capacity to learn. These are: Communication and Language; Physical Development; and Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

The Specific Areas strengthen and apply the Prime Areas. These are: Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the World; and Expressive Art and Design.

Communication and language

Providing an environment where children grow their confidence and learn to express themselves in a variety of situations

Physical development

Helping children develop their co-ordination, control, and movement through active and interactive play. Children are also taught about the importance of physical activity and healthy eating

Personal, social and emotional development

Creating a setting where children develop a positive sense of themselves, form positive relationships and develop respect for others. Children learn how to manage their feelings, understand appropriate behaviour in groups and to have confidence in their own abilities


Encouraging children to link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials including books and poems to ignite their interest


Helping children with their counting skills, understanding numbers and simple addition and subtraction problems

Understanding the world

Guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology, and the environment

Expressive Arts and Design

Enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, and for giving them the opportunity to share their thoughts, ideas and feelings through art, music, movement, dance, role-play, design and technology

Forest School

The Forest School is a nature-based approach to learning personal, social and emotional life skills. It gives our pre-schoolers the opportunity to learn about the natural environment around them, to learn use their own initiative to solve problems and learn how to work with others.

The programme is initially adult-led as our qualified Forest School Leaders first establish routines, behavioural expectations and rules around safety and hygiene in the woodland. Once these are embedded, the programme takes on a child-led approach. Children are taught to use full sized tools and learn how to face new challenges and risks they wouldn’t face in an indoor environment. The physical freedom of learning outside through climbing, exploring, running, jumping and balancing supports development of the young child’s body towards finer movements that will be required for such skills as writing.

Forest School helps to develop:

  • Self-awareness
  • Confidence and self esteem
  • Problem solving skills
  • Good communication skills
  • Independence
  • Physical development
  • Creativity and imagination
  • Ability to work with others